My Bridal Bouquet

Documenting the creation of my handful of memories

Cape Breton Generosity June 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — macmorton @ 5:31 am

I have been overwhelmed by how generously people have shared their treasures with me for this project. For some, it’s been the time and effort they put into finding something just right to send. For others, it’s been passing on family heirlooms. And for others still, it’s been a chance to be part of something they see as special, and that means the world to me.

The next few posts are going to feature brooches that found their way to me through Eleanor Marks. Eleanor’s brother, Howard, was my step-mother’s father. Like her brother, Eleanor has a big heart and an always helping hand. When she found out I was collecting brooches to make my wedding bouquet, she went to work recruiting pieces from her friends. I shall forever be grateful to all the lovely women of Sydney Mines who wished me well as a bride by taking part in this project.

One of the first sets of pieces (oh yes, sets – everyone Eleanor talked to sent multiple pieces!) I received via Eleanor was from her friend Joyce Gardner and her mother, Lena Patrick; my understanding is that Eleanor had a hand in choosing which pieces to send my way. Joyce grew up in Sydney Mines; her mother, Lena (now a spry 95!), was originally from Advocate Harbour. Here are the lovely brooches they’ve contributed to my bouquet: I couldn’t be more thankful for their generosity. 

 

Leave a Reply

