My Bridal Bouquet

Documenting the creation of my handful of memories

Vonnie’s earrings April 14, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — macmorton @ 9:57 pm

I’ll admit this project has brought tears to my eyes more than once, as people have overwhelmed me with their generosity in sharing precious mementos and family heirlooms. One of those treasures that really touched my heart came in a box chock-full of presents for the bouquet. It was from my aunt Denise and her two daughters, Monica and Sara.

Sara sent along a note to explain what was in the box they sent. There were three pieces “picked out with you in mind” – a lovely rose, a blue flower on a stick pin, and a little pink brooch. Then there were two pieces that came from Denise’s jewelry case – a bouquet made from clay and a porcelain boutonniere. There was also a bracelet that’s been re-gifted a few times; very fitting! But what brought me to tears were three pairs of clip-on earrings. They belonged to Denise’s mother-in-law, Vonnie MacLean.

I always smile when I think of her or hear her name; she just always seemed like such a happy, life-loving woman! She is definitely one who could be described as having a life well lived, full of joy and, for anytime I can recall, surrounded by family and friends. I know I’ll already be smiling on my wedding day, but thinking of her spirit being in my hands that day makes me smile just a little bit more.

 

3 Responses to “Vonnie’s earrings”

  1. Monica Says:

    Wow. Now I’ve got tears in my eyes, and I know Nana would be very touvhed to know that she is remembered that way.

  2. Margie MacLean-MacDonald Says:

    Congratulations Jenna…..and what a keepsake idea for a bouquet….I have not heard of it. Mom would be soooo proud.

  3. Ashley Giles Says:

    Jenna we met only once, but when Sara told me about your wedding, and the bouquet, I couldn’t get over the thought and imagination you have put into this wonderful event. Everything you have planned seems wonderful and amazing. I will be waiting to see Sara’s pictures and hear her stories of your big day. Congratulations to you and your fiance!


Leave a Reply

