My Bridal Bouquet

Documenting the creation of my handful of memories

My Bridal Bouquet January 11, 2010

Filed under: Vintage Brooch Bouquet — macmorton @ 10:39 pm

Two hundred days before my wedding (July 31, 2010) and I have almost every major planning decision made – and booked!

Today, I’ve settled on the last un-decided aspect – the flowers. The centerpieces were already determined – candy & personalized gumball slot machines to go with our carnival theme – but now I’m giddy about my bridal bouquet and the story it will tell of our lives.

I’m asking everyone to contribute to my ‘vintage’ brooch bouquet. The brooches don’t have to be old, and they don’t even have to all be brooches. But they do have to be funky or sparkly flowers that are picked with love.

This blog will document each piece that people contribute – and my thoughts and memories about that person.

This isn’t a new idea; if you Google “vintage brooch bouquet” there are 161,000 results! There are talented people who sell lovely artful creations. But I want my bouquet to be made of memories – which means I need your help.

Please take a look through your unused jewelry or keep an eye out the next time you’re at a thrift store or even Wal-Mart. If you find something you’d like to share, send it along. I’ll post pictures and stories as the pieces arrive … and then my challenge of putting it together!

Vintage Brooch Bouquet

Photographed by Alice Hu, created by Amanda Heer of Fantasy Floral Designs

 

13 Responses to “My Bridal Bouquet”

  1. Jana Says:

    I can’t wait to see pictures and follow the process!

  2. Dawnbheag Says:

    Oh boy oh boy! Do I ever have my thinking cap on for this one!!!!!
    Do I pick one to illustrate her love of books? Something to represent our many visits as kids?
    What if I come up with more than one ?!
    Aaaaaacccckkkkkk!

  3. Carla Says:

    This could take care of everything in one shot. Something old, something new, s omething borrowed and something blue.

  4. Karen Says:

    What a wonderful idea!! I love it 🙂
    I will keep my eyes open for something lovely to contribute to your bouquet. Thanks for including me in the process. xo

  5. Sherry Gill Says:

    Jenna, I think this is a fabulous idea – one I’d never heard of! The bouquet won’t die, fade or shrivel up and every time you look at it you’ll be reminded not just of the beginning of a new journey with Alex but also of all the people who have grown to love you throughout your life. Kudos!

  6. Margaret Says:

    What a beautiful idea. We are looking forward to seeing pics from your big day. Congrats!

  7. Wanda MacNeil Says:

    Jenna, I think it is a great thing and I’ll help you out….. I wll also tell Donna who is in Florida and she will be the person to find something for you too…. I can’t waite to start looking for you ….

  8. Leah Bean Says:

    What a COOL idea!!! I had never heard of this before. Neat o.

  9. Tamara Says:

    Wow! Really neat idea! 😀

  10. Kelly Says:

    What a beautiful bouquet! Just remember not to throw it! 🙂

  11. Hannah Says:

    Jenna, I can’t wait to see your masterpiece when it is finished. Your family has a lot of history and I know their contributions will generate love and comfort as you and Alex take your walk down the aisle to start your own arm of the family tree. Congrats to you both.

  12. Amanda Heer Says:

    Oh My Gosh
    I can not belive it 161,000 on Google
    Had no Idea
    I made them 10 years ago
    5 years ago they were featured in Romantic Homes magazine
    and Last Oct they hit the internet by a accident…..
    they are ordered from all over the world now…..
    they are so dear to my heart. and take days to perfect one
    Gosh I am thrilled to know this
    when are you sending yours in?

  13. Kim Says:

    Beautiful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

